MV Staff Honored at End of the Year Breakfast

Lauren Hedrick receives Make-a-Wish award


Teacher-of-the-Year & Staff-of-the-Year Awards

The Mt. Vernon Education Foundation (MVEF) hosted the Teacher of the Year (TOY) and new this year, the Staff of the Year (SOY) awards. The selection process started with the staff in each building nominating their colleagues. The top three nominated teachers and top three nominated staff members were then rated and by their peers based on the district values (dedication, teamwork, caring demeanor, student-centered, life-long learner, and innovation). The building winners then each submitted an application to the MVEF TOY/SOY committee. The committee used the Indiana Department of Education’s TOY scoring rubric to evaluate each building winner and determine the overall MVCSC TOY and SOY.

MVEF is excited to announce a new addition “The Ryan Fry Excellence in Education Award" that will be given to both the 2019 MVCSC TOY and SOY, thanks to the generosity of MVEF donors, Jill and Kevin Prefontaine. The cash award was created in honor of Jill’s brother Ryan. Both Ryan and Jill were MV graduates and their father Kenneth was a math teacher at Mt. Vernon for over 30 years. "The Ryan Fry Excellence in Education Award" aligns itself and supports the MVEF Strategic Plan "in encouraging and recognizing excellence and ingenuity among our educators and staff.”

Mrs. Renee Oldham, Executive Director of the MVEF, shared, “With great respect for the many teachers and staff at Mt. Vernon, it is my honor to share that this process was quite competitive. It is my honor to present an award to the winners and recognize their commendable dedication to their profession and Mt. Vernon students.”

Teacher of the YearTeacher of the Year School Winners
Fortville Elementary - Sara Keljo
McCordsville Elementary  - Karon Neal
Mt. Comfort Elementary - Kelly Brown
Mt. Vernon Middle School - Deb Thomas
Mt. Vernon High School - Sarah Weaver
Administration Building/Alternative School at the L.I.F.E. Center - Byron Simpson

MVCSC Teacher of the Year & Ryan Fry Excellence in Education Award Winner: Mt. Vernon Middle School - Deb Thomas


Staff of the YearStaff of the Year School Winners
Fortville Elementary - Veronica Kirby
McCordsville Elementary  - Diane Rafert
Mt. Comfort Elementary - Tonya Brown
Middle School - Brigitte Bussen
High School - Kelly Fleming
Administration Building - Gwen Scrogham

MVCSC Staff of the Year & Ryan Fry Excellence in Education Award Winner: Administration Building - Gwen Scrogham


Make-a-Wish Educator of the Year Award

A special presentation was made to McCordsville Elementary Teacher, Lauren Hedrick, by Make-a-Wish Development Associate, Haley Mahan. Hendrick has been named Make-A-Wish Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana’s Educator of the Year. Mahan shared, “she has done a tremendous job leading her students in fundraisers for Make-A-Wish. Lauren has supported her students in their ‘Silverizing’ campaign since 2016 and with her help McCordsville has risen to new fundraising heights, having raised over $25,000 for Make-A-Wish since 2009.” Congratulations Lauren! See the profile picture at top of page.


Staff Recognized for Retirement & Years of Service

Many Mt. Vernon staff were honored and recognized at the inaugural end-of-year staff breakfast for their years of service. Thank you staff for your loyalty and dedication to Mt. Vernon!


Stan Daugherty, Alternative Education  (3 years at Mt. Vernon, 43 years total in education)
Candy Downey, Bus Driver  (32 years)
Beverly White, MVHS Cafeteria Staff  (14 years)


Brenda Denney
Joe Freeman

30 YEARS40 Years of Service

Dan Brinker
Dean Falkenberg
Beckey Sietsma


Delinda Deckard

20 YEARS30 Years of Service

Tambra Bauchert
Kimberlie Caudell
Elizabeth Chaplin
Amy Lovell
Kittie Masters
Shana Wolfenberger

15 YEARS25 Years

Laurie Bush
Patty Calder
Lisa Decker
Casey Dodd
Stephanie Evans
Amanda Hill
Rozonna Johnson
20 Years of ServiceLauren Mills
Lisa Pluckebaum
Karen Riesterer
Greg Rollo
Scott Shipley
Cindy Smith
Danielle Stindle
Mary Wade
Chad Wimmenauer
15 Years of ServiceGarrie Woods
Alyson Zelencik
Caleb Zalencik


Donna Dillon
Deborah Duncan
Nancy Fentz
Angela Griffin
Laura Lyons

5 YEARS10 Years of Service

Joe Anderson
Sherry Ballard
Leah Barrow
Fred Bays
Brandy Bell
Daniel Brown
Ryan Carr
Patrick Crouch
Kyra Davis
Angela Dreiman
Margarita Dwyer5 Years of Service
Brian Evans
Mike Friedman
Justin Goff
Christina Grandstaff
Kristin Gray
Corrie Herron
Amanda Holland
Sherrie Hughes
Walter Irby
Shona Kelly
Vera Kimmel
Patricia Lorsung
Karon Neal
Amy Nichols
Christi O’Connor
Michelle Perr
Marisa Salasky
Nicole Shimkoski
Mary Stites
Jennifer Tucker
Emily Vail
Steven Wheeler








Back to School News      Print News Article