Skip To Main Content

MVHS Seniors are Honored for Achievements

MVHS Seniors are Honored for Achievements
Senior Honor Night

Many students from the senior class of 2023 were recognized for their outstanding achievements at Senior Honor Night, which was sponsored by the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation. 

As the students entered the stage, their names were announced with the college/university they plan to attend or their intended field of work. The ceremony began with opening remarks from Mt. Vernon High School Interim Principal Bernie Campbell and the Student Government President, Hunter Austel, which was followed by the presentation of awards, recognitions and scholarships.

The total amount of scholarship money awarded to the Class of 2023 was over $4 million. The following is a compilation of the awards, recognitions and scholarships distributed on Senior Honor Night and the students who received them:

Department Awards

Agriculture- Lillie Fronek

Band- Ethan Woo

Business - Russell Weaver

Choir - Claire Gray

Engineering and Technology - Xander Allen

Senior Honor Night 1

English/ Language- Abby Flick

FACS- Abby Flick

Health/Phys. Ed. - Tori Jenson

JAG- Braeden Thomas

Mathematics - Xander Allen

Science- Erica Conley

Social Studies- Ella Hubbell

Visual Arts - Samantha Kalvaitis

World Language – Chloe Wingham


Senior Honor Night 2

Service and Citizenship Recognition

American Legion Character Award: Ella Hubbell, Ethan Murphy

Gary Leward Award: Daylon King, Ethan Murphy

Mt. Vernon AP Scholars with Honor: Gabriel Bell, Dylan Kistler, Griffin Ruminer, Dawson Wagner

Mt. Vernon AP Scholars with Distinction: Dawson Anderson

Terry/Borgman Mental Attitude Award: Eli Bridenthal

Senior Honor Night 3

Service and Citizenship Merit Awards: Cameron Anderson, Tatchi Anouan, Aysha Bennett, Lael Bickham, Amelia Bitz, George Burhenn, Mindy Cornelius, Ava Crouch, Lillian Davis, Abby Flick, Leah Foland, Lillie Fronek, Reese Hartman, Lukas Hummel, Daylon King, Madelyn Ludlow, Ava MacDonald, Ashlynn McLaughlin, Mason Mounts, Ethan Murphy, Elena Paulsen, Lorelei Pienkowski, Rodney Rivers, Catalina Solis, MacKenize Stout, Russell Weaver, Amanda Whitney, Ethan Woo, Brady Youngs

Naional Honor Society Officers: Ava Crouch (Vice President), Abby Flick (Historian), Lillie Fronek (Secretary), Ethan Murphy (President)

Student Government: Dawson Anderson (Senior Class Secretary), Hunter Austel (Senior Class President), Nicole Burris (Senior Class Representative), Daylon King (Senior Class Treasurer), Ethan Murphy (Executive Vice President), Sophia Romero (Executive President)

Senior Honor Night 4

Community Scholarship Recognition

Certificate of Multilingual Proficiency: Huy Minh Nguyen Dang

Hancock County Art Educators Award: Lael Bickham

Chris Sullivan Memorial Music Boosters Scholarships: Amelia Smith, Ethan Woo

Mark Mattick Mental Attitude Award: Lillian Davis

Army National Guard Scholar Athletes: Ethan Murphy, Khloe Patterson

Senior Honor Night 5

FORUM Foundation Collegiate Scholarship: Luke Gaston

Bruce A. McKinney Memorial Scholarship: Lael Bickham

Mike Johnson Memorial Scholarship: Riley Nielson

Kristofor J. Hammond Scholarship: Chase Masters 

Ernie Oden Athletic Scholarship: Elizabeth Gee-Weiler, Brady Gray, Riley Nielson, Russell Weaver

Phyllis Wright Scholarship: Ethan Woo

William W. Weil Good Citizen Scholarship: Lillie Fronek, Dawson Wagner

Senior Honor Night 6

Mental Attitude Athletic Scholarship in Honor of Robery Doddridge and Coaches Jimmie Howell and Randy Wilson: Russell Weaver

The Steve Williams Soccer Scholarship: Rachel Lorsung, Dawson Wagner

Hancock County Business & Professional Women: Leah Foland

Jobs for America’s Graduates Program Scholarship: Kennedi Morgan

Genevieve Robers Civic Award: Lillie Fronek

Greenfield Area Soccer Club Scholarship: Dylan Kistler

Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi lota Xi Sorority Scholarship (Art): Susanna Gates

Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi lota Xi Sorority Scholarship (Language): Tatchi Anouan

Alpha Phi Chapter of Psi lota Xi Sorority Scholarship (Music): Lukas Hummel

The Salvation Army: 1st Generation Hope Scholarship: Mya Blanton

Roger’s Smile Scholarship: Aysha Bennett

Jack and Bev Falkenberg Memorial Scholarship: Kayla Simmons

DAR Good Citizen: Ella Hubbell

ACE Award: Mya Blanton

Hancock County Community Foundation Scholarship: Lillie Fronek, Ella Hubbell

Lillian Thomas Hull & Charles M. Hull Fine Arts Scholarship: Lael Bickham 

James Whitcomb Riley Festival Scholarship: Nicole Burris

Richard and Judith White Memorial Scholarship: Drew Erdos

Hancock County Shrine Club Scholarship: Griffin Ruminer

Tri Kappa Scholarship: Lael Bickham, Makayla Faulk, Dylan Kistler

Rabe-Vermillion Scholarship: Erin Ballinger, Alivia Barnett, Ashton Julian

Gladys Hancock Shumway Scholarship: Lael Bickham

The Mt. Vernon Optimist Scholarship: Makayla Faulk, Lillie Fronek, Tori Jenson, Katlynn Johnson, Ashlynn McLaughlin

Rotary Club of Greenfield Education Scholarship: Griffin Ruminer

The Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award: Lukas Hummel

The Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award: George Burhenn, Mya Eppert

The Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award: Ethan Murphy

NineStar Connect Scholarship: Xander Allen, Lael Bickham, Kendall Glorioso, Ella Hubbell, John Kroemer, Jackson Lewis, Konnor Scheidt, Brady Youngs

Jack Roysdon Good Neighbor Service Award: Samantha Ferris

Earl J. Brooks & Irene B. Brooks Scholarship: Julie Nicklin

Nancy Terrell Miller Scholarship: Lillie Fronek

Margaret Johnson Honorary Scholarship: Elizabeth Gee-Weiler

George & Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship (Instrumental): Lillian Davis

George & Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship (Vocal): Faith Rinaldi

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6904 Scholarship: Abby Flick

Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship: Dawson Anderson


Recognition of Academic Achievement

Top Scholars: Xander Allen, Dawson Anderson, Gabriel Bell, Erica Conley, Ava Crouch, Abby Flick, Lillie Fronek, Ella Hubbell, Daylon King, John Kroemer, Ethan Murphy, Julie Nicklin, Griffin Ruminer, Dawson Wagner, Joseph Wilson

Senior Leadership Award: Lillie Fronek, Daylon King