Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Class of 2017 Senior Honor Night

Senior Night Award Winners

Many students from the senior class of 2017 attended the Senior Honor Night to be recognized for their outstanding achievements.  Students’ names were announced with the college/university they plan to attend next year as they entered the stage.  The ceremony began with opening remarks from Mt. Vernon High School (MVHS) Principal, Mr. Greg Roach, and the event sponsor, Mrs. Renee Oldham, who is with the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation. 


The grand total amount of scholarships awarded to the seniors was $6,231,157.25.  This amount includes scholarships directly awarded from universities/colleges to the very talented class of 2017.


Service and Citizenship Recognition

Character Award:  Madeline King, Gavin Stamper

Gary Lewark Award:  Gavin Stamper

Service and Citizenship Merit:  Nick Anderson, Tatum Barton, Mazie Bernard, Madeline Bovard, Emily Frost, Megan Gawrys, Maddison Hahn, Kourtney Hancock, Madelyn Keerns, Madeline King, Erica Lohman, Elise Lowell, Emily Martin, Ashley Offenbach, Kyra Prewitt, Kallan Ratekin, Meg Schleter, Shawn Smith, Gavin Stamper, Collin Walsh, Shelbi Webb, Seth Wentz, Tori Whyde, Peyton Wuerch

Terry/Borgman Mental Attitude Award:  Meg Schleter

Senior Class Officers: Gavin Stamper, President; Madeline King, Vice-President; Meg Schleter, Secretary; Oliver Mast, Treasurer

Senior Class Representatives:  Madeline Keerns, Jonah Robinson, Drake Tackett, Henry Werking

Student Government Officers:  Blake Miller, President; Tatum Barton, Historian

National Honor Society Officers:  Hannah Martin, President;  Alyssa Powell, Vice-President; Dana Sutherlin, Secretary; Emily Frost, Treasurer; Emily Annakin, Historian

Mt Vernon AP Scholars with Honor:  Madeline Bovard and Gavin Stamper 

Class of 2017 Award Winners









Community Scholarship Recognition

Bruce McKinney Memorial Scholarship: ($868.00)  Hannah Martin

Steve Utt Scholarship: ($500.00)  Dylan Finke

Mike Johnson Memorial Scholarship: ($1,410.00)  Oliver Mast

Judy D. Smith Memorial Scholarship: ($500.00)  Julia Wayer

Ernie Oden Athletic Scholarships ($250.00 each)  Jaclyn Bulmahn, Michael Ertel, Madeline King, Oliver MastSteve Williams Award Winners

Brandon Rush Award: ($100.00)  Skyler Elsky

Roger’s Smile Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Ben Thompson

Hancock County Art Educators Scholarship: ($376.00)  Mariah Moore 

Edith Zike Nursing Scholarship:  ($)  Hannah Martin

Phyllis Wright Scholarship:  ($21,624.00)  Victoria Whyde, Jeffrey Boxberger

($5,000.00) Tatum Barton

Rabe-Vermillion Scholarship: ($1,200.00)  Elise Lowell,  Kaley Smith

Mark Mattick Mental Attitude Award: ($500.00) Madeline Bovard

Chris Sullivan Memorial Music Booster Scholarships: ($541.50 each)  Leah Klinestiver, Erica Lohman

Donna Duzan Nursing Scholarship: ($500.00)  Briahna Angelopulos

Fortville Business and Professional Women Scholarship: ($1,000)   Kaley Smith

Steve Williams Soccer Scholarship: ($.00 each)  Briahna Angelopulos, Joshua Powell

Mt. Vernon Optimist Scholarship: ($1,000.00 each)  Abby Anderson, Megan Gawrys, Anne McCain, Kathleen Smith, Henry Werking

Rotary Club of Greenfield Education Scholarship: ($500.00) Mazie Bernard

Psi Iota Xi Literature Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Zachary Roach

Psi Iota Xi Art Scholarship: ($1,000.00) Abby Anderson 

Psi Iota Xi Debbie Plank Memorial Music Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Kathleen Smith

Greenfield Kiwanis Robert Eagleston Scholarship: ($1250.00)  Emily Frost

Nathan Grandstaff Award Winner Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship: ($518.00)  Madelyn Keerns

Margaret Johnson Honorary Scholarship: ($2000.00)  Madeline Bovard

Hancock County Community Foundation Scholarship- Lilly Finalists: ($1,000.00 each)  Emily Frost, Meg Schleter

Fortville McCordsville Area Chamber of Commerce: ($1000.00)  Abby Anderson

George and Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship: 2nd Place Vocal  ($2500.00) Felicity Kratky 2nd Place Instrumental ($2500.00)  Leah Klinestiver 

Gladys Hancock Shumway Scholarship: ($1147.00)  Madeline Bovard 

Walter P. and Virginia Worland Scholarship:($1169.25)  Zach Roach 

Nancy Terrell Miller Scholarship: ($1156.00)  Jeffrey Boxberger 

Lillian Thomas Hull and Charles M. Hull Fine Arts Scholarship:  ($500.00)  Erica Lohman

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6904 Scholarship: ($662.00) Gavin Stamper

Earl J. and Irene B. Brooks Scholarship: ($3,668.00) Savanna Donaldson   ($3,668.00)  Danielle Keene

Maxwell United Methodist Memorial Scholarship:  ($1000.00)  Shelbi Webb

Mervin K. Holzhausen Memorial Scholarship:  ($2000.00)  Julia Wayer

JAG Outstanding Senior:   Malik Hamilton-Battee

Army Reserve Scholar Athlete: Meg Schleter  and Mitch McCarthy

DAR Good Citizen  ($100):  Madeline King

FCCLA Scholarship Award:  Mazie Bernard

The Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award:  Gavin Stamper

The Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award:  Michael Ertel

The Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award:  Madeline King


Recognition of Academic Achievement


Top Scholar Awards –   Badrinadh Alvandhar, Emily Annakin, Madeline Bovard, Emily Frost, Megan Gawrys, Nathan Grandstaff, Bryce Gray, Leah Klinestiver, Erica Lohman, Seth Luke, Mitchell McCarthy, Alyssa Powell, Kallan Ratekin, Luken Rigsbee, Meg Schleter, Gavin Stamper, Shelbi Webb


Mt. Vernon High School Department Awards: 


Maddy KingAgricultural Education-  Seth Roberts

Band-  Gavin Stamper

Business – Madelyn Keerns

Choir -  Erica Lohman

Engineering and Technology -  Josh Powell

English/ Language-  Madeline Bovard

FACS-  Elise Lowell

Fine Arts – Elise Lowell

Health/Phys. Ed. -  Alex Barnett

High Tech Academy–  Blake Miller

Mathematics -  Nathan Grandstaff

Science-  Nathan Grandstaff

Social Studies-  Shelbi Webb

World Language – Madeline King


Senior Leadership Award: ($1,500.00 each)   Blake Miller, Gavin Stamper


Total Amount of Scholarships Awarded:  $ 6,231,157.25

Print a List of the Class of 2017 Senior Honor Night Award Winners



Back to School News      Print News Article