Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

MES & FES Students Win Awards in IN Jr Duck Stamp Contest

The annual Indiana Junior Duck Stamp Contest was held March 28 at the Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge with 106 entries this year. The Junior Duck Stamp Contest promotes learning about waterfowl and conservation by creating art. Hanna Walton, age 9, from Fortville Elementary won second place in the grades K-3 category. The student contest is a smaller version of the adult federal Duck Stamp Art Contest. The national Junior Duck Stamp winner is also made into a collectable stamp.


The Indiana Junior Duck Stamp Contest is judged in four age categories. Besides Hanna Walton winning second place in the grades K-3 category, other Fortville Elementary Honorable Mentions winners were: Emma Owens, Aaron Doty and Roy Shultz III. McCordsville Elementary students who received Honorable Mentions were: Sophia Ward, Parker Atkinson, Jonah Armah Ardayflo, and Natalie Sparks.


There is an awards ceremony for Indiana’s first, second, and third place winners at the Muscatatuck NWR during the Wings Over Muscatatuck festival on May 9th. 











McCordsville Elementary School Winners

Fortville Elementary School Winners

Back to School News      Print News Article