Thank You MV Staff! End of Year Staff Celebration

Karen Cochran

MV School Board & Dr. ParkerWednesday morning, June 9, the Mt. Vernon staff gathered together in the high school gym to celebrate their accomplishments this year. The morning began with Superintendent Dr. Parker opening by recognizing the board. He continued the celebration by taking some time to speak to all staff, emphasizing their amazing efforts throughout this challenging year. Dr. Parker also made sure to mention that all staff should take this summer to rest and take care of themselves, and get a bit of respite.

All employees wore their new staff t-shirts that say "Together We Can Do Virtually Anything." Those that were being recognized sat socially distanced at the gym floor, and all other staff sat on the bleachers. Employees that have worked at Mt. Vernon for anywhere from five to forty years were recognized, earning a pin with their number of years, with forty years also receiving a gift. 



5 years5 years10 years15 years20 years25 years40 years


Teacher and Staff of the Year winners were also recognized for each building and the district. Special thanks to the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation for facilitating this program. See the full article with pictures HERE.

District Staff/Teacher of the Year Winners
Teacher of the Year:   Lynette Huth, Mt. Vernon High School
Staff of the Year:    Doris Johnson, Administration (Preschool/Admin Bldg)

Building Teacher of the Year winners:
Leeanna Seppala, Mini-Marauder Preschool (Preschool/Admin Bldg)
Delinda Deckard, Fortville Elementary
Beth Chaplin, McCordsville Elementary 
Brianne Williams, Mt. Comfort Elementary 
Kittie Masters, Mt. Vernon Middle School 
Lynette Huth, Mt. Vernon High School

Building Staff of the Year winners:
Doris Johnson, Administration (Preschool/Admin Bldg)
Nancy Price, Fortville Elementary
Jenny Campbell, McCordsville Elementary
Melissa Montague, Mt. Comfort Elementary
Lisa Lindman, Mt. Vernon Middle School
Joana Goff, Mt. Vernon High School


Lastly, the retirees who collectively have over 250 years among them, were recognized and invited to a board meeting where they will receive a gift as a token of appreciation from Mt. Vernon. Please congratulate and thank our new retirees for their years of service and dedication:

Patty Bennett (HS) 20 years (pictured in the middle)
Kim Caudell (MES) 22 years
Carey Cole (MS) 41 years
(pictured middle right)
Cindy Conover (HS) 17 years (pictured on the right)
Pam DeBaun (Admin.) 23 years
Brenda Denney (PreK) 42 years
Lola Halterman (FES) 25 years
(pictured on the left)
Melinda Jackson (HS) 35 years (pictured middle left)
Beckey Sietsma (Bus) 31.5 years
Greg Worland (FES) 18 years



After Dr. Parker's final farewell, staff were invited to take breakfast to go and enjoy their summer! 

Back to School News       Print