Class of 2018 Senior Honor Night

Class of 2018 Senior Honor Night

Many students from the senior class of 2018 attended the Senior Honor Night to be recognized for their outstanding achievements.  As the seniors entered the stage, students’ names were announced with the college or university they plan to attend next year, as well as their intended major.  The ceremony began with opening remarks from the Mt. Vernon High School (MVHS) Principal, Mr. Greg Roach, the Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Tim Long, and the event sponsor, Mrs. Renee Oldham, who is the Executive Director of the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation.  The Mt. Vernon Education Foundation sponsored a reception for students and their families to celebrate after the awards ceremony.

The grand total amount of scholarships awarded to the seniors was a record to date: $8,198,094!  This amount includes scholarships directly awarded from universities/colleges to the very talented class of 2018.  

The following is a compilation of the awards distributed on Senior Honor Night and the students who received them:


Service and Citizenship Recognition

Character Award:  Lauren Pilkington, Matthew Boyle

Gary Lewark Award:  Matthew Boyle

Service and Citizenship Merit:  Samaria Allen, Isabel Baker, Mary Barnett, Josh Blackburn, Trevor Bond, Matthew Boyle, Cole Cain, Jacob Chaves, Timmy Clone, Tyler Durbin, Mary Fleming, Christopher Flowers, Samantha Foster, Alexis Franklin, Shelby Gaunt, Jack Hayes, Sarah Herman, Steven Hogan, Anna Howard, Zoe Jenkins, Sara Kious, Kristina Lee, Madeline Martin, Alana McClain, Elizabeth McCleery, Catherine McGovern, Audrey Melms, Alexa Mott, Alaina Nelson, Kaitlin Nugent, Tara Paarlberg, Lauren Pilkington, Matthew Rollo, Roxanne Saschizan, Katelyn Schreiber, Olivia Spicer, Bryan Taylor, Anya Terrill, Rose Yang

Terry/Borgman Mental Attitude Award:  Matthew Boyle

Senior Class Officers: Madison Smith, President; Kaitlyn Nugent, Vice-President; Elizabeth Miller, Secretary; Matthew Boyle, Treasurer

Senior Class Representatives: Meridan Eads, Anna Howard, Sara Kious, Karis Witte

Student Government Officers: Cody Smitley, President; Alaina Nelson, Vice-President; Sara Herman, Treasurer; Zoe Jenkins, Historian

National Honor Society Officers:  Elizabeth Miller, President;  Matthew Boyle, Vice-President; Olivia Spicer, Secretary; Matthew Rollo, Treasurer; Madison Smith, Historian

Mt Vernon AP Scholars with Honor:  Anne Hermann, Matthew Rollo

Class of 2018 Senior Honor Night

Community Scholarship Recognition

Bruce McKinney Memorial Scholarship: ($860.00)  Isabel Baker

Kristofor J. Hammond Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Elizabeth McCleery

Mike Johnson Memorial Scholarship: ($1,423.00)  Matthew Boyle

Judy D. Smith Memorial Scholarship: ($701.00)  Alexa Mott

Ernie Oden Athletic Scholarships ($1000.00 each)  Alaina Nelson, Lydia Tierney, Trevor Bond, Damari Gatewood

Roger’s Smile Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Bailey Cox, Audrey Melms, Hannah


Hancock County Art Educators Scholarship: Isabel Baker

Patricia Orr Allemeier Memorial Nursing Scholarship:  ($1000.00) Kaitlyn Nugent

Phyllis Wright Scholarship:  ($20,000.00) Matthew Boyle

($12,644.00)  Madison Smith

Rabe-Vermillion Scholarship: ($1,030.00)  Sara Kious, Kassandra Ramirez, Gabrielle Warner (Morgan Cappelletti, Savannah Donaldson)

Mark Mattick Mental Attitude Award: ($500.00) Emma FlickSteve Williams Scholarship Recipients

Chris Sullivan Memorial Music Booster Scholarships: ($530.00 each)  Emma Flick, Jennifer McGowen

Steve Williams Soccer Scholarship: ($500.00 each)  Alaina Nelson, Timmy Clone

Mt. Vernon Optimist Scholarship: ($1,000.00 each)  Matthew Boyle, Meridan Eads, Mary Fleming, Kaitlyn Nugent, Jenna Stamm

Rotary Club of Greenfield Education Scholarship: ($500.00) Matthew Boyle

Psi Iota Xi Literature Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Alaina Nelson

Psi Iota Xi Art Scholarship: ($1,000.00) Lauren Humerickhouse

Psi Iota Xi Debbie Plank Memorial Music Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Matthew Rollo

Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship: ($511.00)  Zoe Jenkins

Margaret Johnson Honorary Scholarship: ($2000.00)  Delaney Johnstone

Hancock County Community Foundation Scholarship- Lilly Finalists: ($1,000.00)  Matthew Boyle, ($0)  Matthew Rollo

Tri Kappa Scholarship:  ($1,000.00) Matthew BoyleClass of 2018 Senior Honor Night

George and Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship: 1st Place Vocal  ($3000.00) Lauren Pilkington  1st Place Instrumental ($3000.00)  Tara Paarlberg

Gladys Hancock Shumway Scholarship: ($1151.00)  Brittany Stewart

FORUM Credit Union:  ($20,000.00) Alaina Nelson

Walter P. and Virginia Worland Scholarship: ($1153.00)  Bailey Cox

Nancy Terrell Miller Scholarship: ($1145.00)  Tara Paarlberg

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6904 Scholarship: ($652.00)  Baylee Vaughn

JAG Outstanding Senior:   Bryan Taylor-Austin

Army National Guard Scholar Athlete: Olivia Spicer, Jenner York

DAR Good Citizen  ($100): Alaina Nelson

FCCLA Scholarship Award:  Audrey Melms

The Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award:  Jacob Daswani

The Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award:  Sarah Herman, Trevor Bond

The Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award:  Cody Smitley


Recognition of Academic Achievement

Top Scholar Awards–   Matthew Boyle, Meridan Eads, Anne Hermann, Victoria Hexamer, Zoe Jenkins, Jennifer McGowen, Carly McWilliams, Elizabeth Miller, Kaitlyn Nugent, Matthew Rollo, Madison Smith, Olivia Spicer, Hannah Watson, Sophie Williams, Jenner York


Mt. Vernon High School Department Awards:

        Agricultural Education-  Stephanie Gritter

        Band-  Emma FlickBand Department Award Winner

        Business –  Meridan Eads

        Choir -  Makaela King

        Engineering and Technology -  Max Newlin

        English/ Language-  Carly McWilliams

        FACS-  Kristina Lee

        Health/Phys. Ed. -  Trevor Bond

        High Tech Academy–  Tyler Newlin

        Mathematics -  Meridan Eads

        Science-  Olivia Spicer

        Social Studies-  Matthew Rollo

        Visual Arts -  Ashley Uppfalt

        World Language – Elizabeth Miller


Senior Leadership Award: ($1,500.00 each)   Madison Smith, Matthew Boyle


Total Amount of Scholarships Awarded:  $ 8,178,804.00

Print a List of the Class of 2018 Senior Honor Night Award Winners



Back to School News       Print