Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

MVHS Celebrated Senior Honor Night with Over 50 Scholarship/Awards

MVHS Celebrated Senior Honor Night with Over 50 Scholarship/Awards

Many students from the senior class of 2016 attended the Senior Honor Night to be recognized for their outstanding achievements.  Students’ names were announced with the college/university they plan to attend next year as they entered the stage.  The ceremony began with opening remarks from Mt. Vernon High School (MVHS) Principal Bernie Campbell and Student Government President Emily Fleming, followed by the presentation of awards/scholarships.


The grand total amount of scholarships awarded to the seniors was $4,991,176.75.  This amount includes scholarships directly awarded from universities/colleges to the very talented class of 2016.


The following list includes the Senior Honor Night awards presented:


Service and Citizenship Recognition

Character Award:  Emily Fleming & Aaron Rush

Gary Lewark Award:  K.C. Houck

Service and Citizenship Merit:  Tayler Andrews, Kayla Campbell, Madelyn Conway, Grace Corman, Lily Erlewein, Mary Grace Ertel, Emily Fleming, Tyler Franklin, Ashley Fritz, Madison Horsley, Brandi Kingery, Madison McClain, Elizabeth McGovern, Ayden Millspaugh, Megan Parke, Sara Shelton, Sydney Shelton, Kayla Smith, Jonathan Taylor, Chelsea Theobald, Noelle Truex

Terry/Borgman Mental Attitude Award:  Molly Yee

Senior Class Officers: Madison Horsley, President; Christian Noble, Vice-President; Laura Cochran, Secretary; Deja Lockett, Treasurer

Student Government Officers:  Emily Fleming, President; Chelsea Theobald, Vice-President; Sydney Henderson, Secretary; Evan Schacherer, Historian

National Honor Society Officers:  Lily Erlewein, President; Aundrea Coleman, Vice-President; Morgan Cappelletti, Secretary; Lauren Matson, Treasurer; Molly Yee, Historian

Mt Vernon AP Scholars with Honor:  Cassandra Bridges 

AP Scholar with Distinction:  Brian Bozymski, Mary Grace Ertel, Chelsea Theobald, Cassandra York


Community Scholarship Recognition

Bruce McKinney Memorial Scholarship: ($962.00)  Laura Cochran

Steve Utt Scholarship: ($507.00)  Madelyn Conway

Mike Johnson Memorial Scholarship: ($1,403.00)  Evan Schacherer 

Judy D. Smith Memorial Scholarship: ($654.00)  Eric Larson

Ernie Oden Athletic Scholarships ($250.00 each)  Mary Grace Ertel, Sydney Shelton, Aaron Rush, Dixon Tierney

MV Cheer Alumni Scholarship: ($500.00)  Lily Erlewein

Brandon Rush Award: ($100.00)  Ayden Millspaugh

Hancock County Art Educators Scholarship: ($tbd)  Elizabeth McGovern

Phyllis Wright Scholarship:  ($17,849.50)  Kade Padgett

Rabe-Vermillion Scholarship: ($2,600.00)  Noelle Truex 

Mark Mattick Mental Attitude Award: ($500.00)  Evan Schacherer

Chris Sullivan Memorial Music Booster Scholarships: ($610.50 each)  Chelsea Theobald, Sabrina Woods

Donna Duzan Nursing Scholarship: ($500.00)  Theresia Barnett 

FORUM Credit Union Scholarship: ($20,000.00)  Aundrea Coleman

Fortville Business and Professional Women Scholarship: ($1,000)   Emily Fleming

Steve Williams Soccer Scholarship: ($500.00 each)  Blaire Viehweg and Devin Nelson

Mt. Vernon Optimist Scholarship: ($1,000.00 each)  Brian Bozymski, Taylor Bragdon, Emily Fleming, Blaire Viehweg, Molly Yee

Tri Kappa:  ($1,000.00)  Emily Fleming

P.EO. Star Scholarship:  ($2,500.00)  Ashley Fritz

Erlewein Scholarship:  ($1,000.00 each)  Brian Bozymski, Emily Fleming, Brendan O’Bryhim, Joshua Williams, Molly Yee

Erlewein Scholarship:  ($500.00 each)  Teresa Bond, Morgan Cappelletti, Madelyn Conway, Lauren Matson, Megan Parke, Savanna Schultz, Noelle Truex, Blaire Viehweg, Cassandra York

Rotary Club of Greenfield Education Scholarship: ($500.00)  Lily Erlewein

Psi Iota Xi Art Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Kaylee Walkey

Psi Iota Xi Debbie Plank Memorial Music Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Evan Schacherer

Greenfield Kiwanis Robert Eagleston Scholarship: ($1,000.00)  Megan Parke

Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship: ($576.00)  Jacob Ault 

Margaret Johnson Honorary Scholarship: ($2,000.00)  Emily Fleming

Hancock County Community Foundation Scholarship- Lilly Finalists: ($1,000.00 each)  Lily Erlewein, Aaron Rush

George and Icy Vaughn Performing Arts Scholarship: 2nd Place Vocal  ($3,500.00)  Ashley Fritz   2nd Place Instrumental ($3,500.00)  Sabrina Woods

Gladys Hancock Shumway Scholarship: ($1,260.00)  Elizabeth McGovern

Walter P. and Virginia Worland Scholarship: ($1,315.25)  Madelyn Conway 

Nancy Terrell Miller Scholarship: ($1,264.00)  Peyton Scott

Dr. Brian and Charlotte Kirkwood Scholarship:  ($1,014.00)  Molly Yee

Lillian Thomas Hull and Charles M. Hull Fine Arts Scholarship:  ($590.00)  Evan Schacherer

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6904 Scholarship: ($745.00)  Jacob Swift

Earl J. and Irene B. Brooks Scholarship: ($7,000.00)   Jacob Ault   ($1,283.00)  Eric Larson

Army Reserve Scholar Athlete:  Cassandra York, Aaron Rush

DAR Good Citizen  ($100):  Emily Fleming

Lee and Bessie S. Blazer Memorial Scholarship:  ($10,992.00)  Samantha Russell


Recognition of Academic Achievement

 Top Scholar Awards – 12th Grade –   Brian Bozymski, Cassandra Bridges, Lily Erlewein, Mary Grace Ertel, Emily Fleming, Matthew Hays, James McGowen, Brendan O’Bryhim, Megan Parke, Aaron Rush, Kayla Smith, Chelsea Theobald, Saleem Tucker, Sabrina Woods, Cassandra York

Top Graduating 11th Grade Scholars – Theresia (Tess) Barnett, Elizabeth May


Mt. Vernon High School Department Awards

Agricultural Education-  Lauren Landis

Band-   Sabrina Woods

Business – Laura Cochran

Choir -  Matthew Hays

Engineering and Technology -  Darius Chargualaf

English/ Language- Ian Carson

FACS-  Bailey Grandstaff

Fine Arts – Brianna Partin

Health/Phys. Ed. -  James Campbell

High Tech Academy–  Tyler Garner

Mathematics -  Brian Bozymski

Science-  Brian Bozymski

Social Studies-  Elizabeth May

World Language – Ian Carson


Senior Leadership Award: ($1,500.00 each)  Madelyn Conway, Emily Fleming

Back to School News      Print News Article