Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar


Science Olympiad Team Wins 3rd!

The Science Olympiad Team won 3rd place at the Butler Regionals Competition against 15 teams on Saturday, February 27, 2016.  The MVHS Science Olympians are now qualified to compete with 32 other teams at the State Finals on March 19th in Bloomington, IN. First and second place winners from the State Finals are selected to move on to Nationals. According to Adviser and MVHS Science Teacher, Mr. Troy Everett, "It would be tough to do that, but the kids are excited!"

The MVHS Science Olympiad Team includes:


SENIORS: Brian Bozymski, Darius Chargualaf, Matthew Hays, Paige Hughes, Eric Larson, Lauren Matson, Ciera McCann, James McGowen, Brendan O'Bryhim, Brianna Partin, and Aaron Rush.


JUNIORS: Nathan Grandstaff, Elizabeth May, and Elisabeth Waucquez.


SOPHOMORES: Drew Bluethmann, Brett Meyer, and Olivia Spicer.

FCCLA receives Gold Honor Chapter Award

Mt. Vernon High School's FCCLA (Family, Career, Community Leaders of America) Chapter received the highest honor, the FCCLA Gold Honor Chapter Award, at the Indiana FCCLA State Leadership Conference which took place February 25, 2016. During the conference FCCLA members attended youth sessions covering topics such as: Fuel Up to Play 60; Teen Dating Violence and Internet Safety; College Life; Homelessness; Leadership in Action; Teen Safe Driving; and Tiny Homes, Big Futures.


National Award Winners

Jonathan Taylor (12) and Ali Brumley (12)

For their Teach and Train STAR Events, Jonathan Taylor (12) was awarded the National Qualifier Award, and Ali Brumley (12) was awarded the National Qualifier Alternate Award. The National FCCLA Conference will be held in San Diego, California in July. Congratulations!

Gold Award Winners

FCCLA in Action

Beyond the Basics

Focus on the Basics

National Project
STAR Event
Digital Stories for Change

Mazie Bernard (11) Badrinadh Alvandhar (11) Zach Boulanger (10) Badrinadh Alvandhar (11)
  Mazie Bernard (11) Aaron Eason (10) Mazie Bernard (11)
    Jenner York (10)  

Silver Award Winners

Life Event Planning

Focus on Children

Maddison Hahn (11) Peyton Scott (12)
Kourtney Hancock (11)  
Lauren Mitchell (11)  

Bronze Award Winners

FCCLA in Action

Fashion Trend Board

Maddison Hahn (11) Samaria Allen (10)
Kourtney Hancock (12) Alexis Nunnally (10)
  Tilyn Murray (10)

Honorable Mention

Environmental Consumer Options

Brooke Ford (12)


FCCLA is a national Career and Technical Student Organization that provides personal growth, leadership development, and career preparation opportunities for students in Family and Consumer Sciences education. Mrs. Tammy Bauchert, MVHS Consumer Sciences Teacher, is the adviser and encourages everyone to check out the MVHS FCCLA Facebook page for updates on what the organization is doing during the school year.

MVHS Band Program Earns GOLD at STATE!

According to Derek Ellinger, Director of Bands at MVHS, "Two-thirds of the entire high school band program earned a gold rating at state finals. This is a HUGE accomplishment for Mt. Vernon High School!" Students advanced to the state finals by receiving a Group I Gold Rating first at the district contest held in late January. MVHS musicians then performed at State Finals held at North Central High School on Saturday, February 27, 2016. MVHS represented well in both solo and ensemble competitions. The following students achieved the highest ranking at state: Group I Gold Rating. Congratulations!



Roye Chae (12) - Clarinet (pictured above)

Emma Flick (10) - Oboe
Leah Klinestiver (11) - Flute
Andrew Roembke (10) - Trumpet
Nicole Schreiner (10) - Flute
Gavin Stamper (11) - French Horn

Patrick Watson (10) - 4-Mallet Marimba (pictured above)



Flute Trio
Leah Klinestiver (11), Jennifer McGowen (10), Nicole Siefker (11)
Clarinet Trio
Cassandra Bridges (12), Ian Carson (12), Tara Paarlberg (10)

Woodwind Trio (pictured above)
Jennifer McGowen (10), Tara Paarlberg (10), Sabrina Woods (12)
Flute Quartet
Sydney Blankenship (10), Jennifer McGowen (10), Nicole Schreiner (10), Lauren Vest (9)
Trombone Quartet
Nathan Casler (11), Jacob Daswani (10), Evan Schacherer (12), Colin Walsh (11)
Brass Quintet
William Linville (12), Luken Rigsbee (11),Andrew Roembke (10), EvanSchacherer (12), Gavin Stamper (11)
Clarinet Ensemble
Hayden Bailey (9), Emily Bostrom (10), Cassandra Bridges (12), Hannah Burch (11), Ian Carson (12), Roye Chae (12), Jessica Flood (12), Samantha Foster (10), Holly Haney (10), Elizabeth McCleery (10), Tara Paarlberg (10), Ilana Rodriguez (10), Sabrina Woods (12), Adison Wooldridge (9)


Percussion Ensemble (pictured above)
Cole Bridges (10), Tristan Carson (12), Kenneth Cox (9), Emily Frost (11), Mackenzie Grinyer (9), William Linveill (12), Robert Lockett (9), Victoria Miller (10), Brendan Mitchell (9), Benjamin Parke (9), Michael Pellom (10), Patrick Watson (10), Nathan Williams (10), Jun Yang (11)


Mary Barnett (10) - Alto Saxophone
Evan Schacherer (12) - Trombone

Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation will Engage, Educate and Empower today's students to seize tomorrow's opportunities.


The Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation is committed to an accessible website initiative.

© 2018 Mt. Vernon Community School Corp.